An Introduction to Our Seven Energy Centers: The Chakras

In Eastern religion, Western Indian medicine and spiritual science the chakras are known as the “wheels of life”. They are spinning vortexes of electro-magnetic energy that connect us physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually. In the body we have thousands of pathways of energy called nadis that correspond to meridians of traditional Chinese medicine. These energetic pathways cross like freeway interchanges at seven main areas running though the spine. The seven energy centers are known as the chakras.

The charkas are levels of consciousness that influence our perceptions of reality. They are not physical but they connect the physical with the non-physical and in this way influence the health of the whole body. Chakras are like energy gateways within your being that process information and through which you can gain access to greater states of perception and consciousness.

Eastern philosophy believes that each of these energy centers contain a universal spiritual life-lesson that we must learn to evolve into a higher consciousness. In yoga, the lotus flower represents this. A lotus flower arises from the muddy water to emerge pristine in the light. It symbolizes one’s growth from the realms of darkness and ignorance into the awakened state of enlightenment or “Samadhi”. Charkas are energy gateways within your being that process information and through which you can gain access to a greater perception or consciousness.

The following information briefly illustrates the spiritual life lessons represented by the seven chakras:

  1. FIRST chakra- lessons related to the material world

  2. SECOND chakra-lessons related to sexuality work and physical desire

  3. THIRD chakra-lessons related to ego, personality and self-esteem

  4. FOURTH chakra- lessons related to love, compassion and forgiveness

  5. FIFTH chakra- lessons relates to will and self-expression

  6. SIXTH chakra- relates to mind, intuition, insight and wisdom

  7. SEVENTH chakra- lessons related to spirituality

Many Eastern spiritual traditions understand illness to be a depletion of one’s internal power or spirit. A greater understanding of the chakras and what they represent can help us decode the emotional, spiritual, psychological message that underlie physical illness. Our mind and bodies are completely connected. When are centers are blocked, we can have problems in all these areas, when the energy flows freely, we can achieve a holistic sense of healing and wellness.

Here’s an overview of each chakra and what they represent: The first four are more literal, practical, logical and based on the five senses. The last three are more abstract, symbolic and esoteric.


The first chakra located at the base of the spine. It deals with survival, trust, security and self-protection. Issues with your tribe or immediate family and the inability to stand up for yourself are dealt with here. The legs, base of spine, bones, feet and rectum and immune system are a part of the root chakra. Chronic low back pain, sciatica, depression, and immune relates disorders and arise from blocked energy here.


The second chakra is located below the navel and above the pubic bone. Passion, creativity, sex, money, ethics and honor in one on one personal relationships manifest here. The sexual organs, large intestine, bladder and pelvis area are apart of this energy center. Physical problems here can be low back pain, sciatica, ob/gyn problems, reproductive issues and urinary problems.


The third chakra is located above the navel . This is the center of personal will, honor and power. This center deals with your individually and your relationship to the world around you. This chakra connects to your self-esteem, self-confidence, self-respect and trust. The digestive organs and adrenal glands are affected here. Digestive issues, diabetes, ulcers and anorexia can happen from this center being blocked.


The fourth chakra is located in the center of the chest and is the bridge between the lower and upper chakras. Love, compassion, joy and self-healing arise when this center is flowing freely. Issues like bitterness, resentment, and self-centeredness can arise here when the energy is not flowing. This chakra connects to the heart, lungs, circulatory system, shoulders and arms, diaphragm, breasts and thymus gland. Physical issues include heart and lung problems and upper back and shoulder issues problems.


The fifth energy center is located in the throat. This is the center of truth, self-expression, artistry, addiction, judgment and criticism. The throat chakra relates to the throat, thyroid, trachea, neck, mouth, teeth and gums, parathyroid and hypothalamus gland. Physical issues here that can develop are problems in the mouth, neck, throat and thyroid gland.


The sixth chakra is located in the brow center. This is the place of intuition, insight, emotional intelligence, imagination, lack of self-awareness and prejudice. This center relates to the brain, nervous system, ears, eyes, nose, pineal and pituitary gland. Physical issues that arise here are brain problems, neurological disorders, learning disabilities, eye and ear problems, and full spinal difficulties.


The seventh and last energy center is located at the crown of the head. This is the connection to spirituality and devotion. Faith, inspiration, selflessness, and values reside here. This center connects to the muscular system, skeletal system and skin. Physical issues that can occur here are chronic exhaustion, extreme sensitivity to light and sound and energetic disorders.

The chakras also relate to specific colors, the colors of the rainbow and to the elements.

  • ROOT - red, Earth

  • SACRAL- orange, water

  • SOLAR PLEXUS- yellow, fire

  • HEART- green, air

  • THROAT - blue, sound

  • THIRD EYE- indigo, light

  • CROWN- purple, thought

In moving through the chakras we can use this journey as stepping stones to our liberation, each step granting us more freedom from limited forms, repetitive habits and worldly attachments. Each step expands our horizons and consciousness. Meditation, self-inquiry, yoga and awareness of where and when you gain and lose energy help to unblock our energy centers and keep the energy flowing freely for overall health and wellness for mind, body and spirit.

Remember that all physical and emotional obstacles are illusion. Always seek the energy meaning of a situation and follow it and keep in mind the seven sacred truths of the body and spirit.

  1. All is one

  2. Honor one another

  3. Honor oneself

  4. Love is divine power

  5. Surrender personal will to divine will

  6. Seek only truth

  7. Live in the present moment

By beginning to see your body and spirit in a new way, you can begin to heal yourself.

For more information on this subject, check out these great books:

Anatomy Of The Spirit, Caroline Myss, PH.D.

Wheels Of Life, Anodea Judith, PH.D

Your Body Speaks Your Mind, Deb Shapiro

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
Proud Member of